The UNESCO Office in Dakar (otherwise called UNESCO Multisectoral Regional Office in Dakar or UNESCO Dakar) represents UNESCO in seven West African countries (Burkina Faso, Cabo Verde, the Gambia, Guinea-Bissau, Mali, Niger and Senegal) in all UNESCO's fields of competence, namely Education, Natural Sciences, Social and Human Sciences, Culture as well as Communication & Information. It is still sometimes known under its previous name as BREDA (Bureau régional de l'éducation en Afrique – Regional Bureau for Education in Africa).